SEAOClogo2017horiz-02Save the Date for the 2017 SEAOC Convention!
September 13-15, 2017
at the Hilton Resort & Spa at Mission Bay




2016-2017 SEAOSD Board of Directors

President ~ Mike Braund
Vice President ~ Curtis Patterson
Treasurer ~ Peter Carlson
Past President ~ Ryan Turner
Director 2016-2018 ~ Luvelyn Benitez
Director 2016-2018 ~ Jeremy Callister
Director 2015-2017 ~ Steve Kerr
Director 2015-2017 ~ Lisa Bridge
Executive Administrator~ Heather Caya


SEAOSD Members: 2017 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards – Call For Entries

It’s not too early to start preparing for the 2017 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards!

Please click here to download the entry packet.

Entries are due Thursday April 27th, 2017

SEAOSD is proud to announce a few key changes this year…


1)      The SEAOSD Awards entry process has been combined with the state level SEAOC Awards program.  This new integrated program is now a two-tiered process to truly reveal the best of the best of structural engineering excellence in California.


2)      Projects must be submitted to the SEAOC/SEAOSD Awards program.  There will no longer be a separate application for the SEAOC Awards.  Projects that win a Regional (SEAOSD) award will be automatically advanced to the SEAOC Awards program.  **New Addendum: Eligible projects now include SEAOSD Awardees from 2015 or 2016 that were not previously submitted to SEAOC Awards in the last two years can be submitted to SEAOSD and will be advanced to SEAOC.  See the latest entry package for additional information.


3)      The only entry fee is the SEAOC/SEAOSD Awards entry fee of $150.  No additional entry fee will be required for advancement to the SEAOC Awards.  **Project eligible to be entered to SEAOC under the addendum require an entry fee of $75.


4)      Display boards are no longer optional and are due at the same time as the electronic submission materials.


5)      The winners of the SEAOC/SEAOSD Awards will be displayed at the 2017 SEAOC Convention hosted right here in San Diego!  This is a chance for your firm to shine in front of all Convention attendees in our own back yard.

The 2016 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards

Congratulations to our winners!

Excellence in Sustainable Design – Clea House, Nakhshab Development & Design

Excellence in Landmark Structures – Otay – Tijuana Cross Boarder Xpress, Hope- Amundson

Certificate of Merit in New Construction & People’s Choice – Sempra Energy Headquarters, KPFF

Certificate of Merit in Infrastructure – SD Rental Car Center, Kleinfelder and WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff

04-18-16 SEAOSD Click here to see last year’s winners in the San Diego Business Journal

04-18-16 SEAOSD


2017 SEAOSD Golf Tournament

April 17, 2017 at Twin Oaks



U.S. Resiliency Council: “Improving the Built Environment and Promoting Community Resilience”

Article by: Mike Braund



March Luncheon Handout

PTI-Current Trends in PT Design and Construction-San Diego-Handout